home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the brownstone >  reviews

The Brownstone

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 973-595-8582 
351 West Broadway, Paterson, NJ 07522
 
Overall Rating
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.6/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.6/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.8/5.0
Flexibility:
4.7/5.0
 
59 Total Reviews
 
Erin & Nic
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The staff at The Brownstone is amazing. From the serving staff that made every moment of the reception seamless, to the amazing bakery that made our fabulous cake (both aesthetically and flavor), to the management staff that guided us every step of the way. Everyone helped accomplish our vision of an intimate, unique wedding reception in our own beautiful backyard.
Jennifer
Wedding: 6/21/14
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have chosen a more perfect venue for our wedding. We used The Brownstone's conservatory for our ceremony, which just allowed for such an ethereal, fairy-tale like setting. The food was plentiful and out of this world. Guests still can't stop talking about it! Al and his team made sure everything went smoothly, and we couldn't be happier. With the exception of some unresponsiveness to coordinate rehearsal and pay, which caused some confusion but was easily taken care of, everything was perfect. We will use this venue again for future events!
Anthony
Wedding: 6/15/14
3.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.0/5.0
Flexibility:
3.5/5.0
We have been to The Brownstone many times for other events. We were happy with the venue, but the price was a bit high, and the service wasn't as great as we expected. Overall it was good, just not as perfect as we thought. Would use them again.
Private User
Wedding: 6/1/14
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Brownstone provided us off-premises catering and coordinated EVERYTHING perfectly. Tommy at the Brownstone arranged the right amount and type of rentals to complement our ideas for the reception at our own chosen location in NYC. Tommy spent 2 meetings of approximately 1-hour each with us in his office and then came and met us on-site at our location to get a better understanding of the space and appropriate flow. The bar tenders, servers, and other staff were responsive, and our guests commented on how professional and friendly all the staff were. The maitre'd, Gary, was amazing; he was very professional and catered to our needs; his attention to EVERY detail was exceptional; anything that we needed, he was right there. The maitre'd made the evening flow perfectly.
shelley
Wedding: 3/30/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
food and staff is fabulous.....
Valerie
Wedding: 3/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with the way our wedding day turned out! We got many compliments on how great the food was and how beautiful the cake was.
Maria
Wedding: 3/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They treated us, Bridal party and guests like royalty. Extremely accommodating, helpful, the food was amazing and delicious and the space was beautiful. The night was magical.
Private User
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Working with Tommy was incredible!! He had an answer to my questions before I could even ask, and I had a lot of questions.The venue is gorgeous. The staff in phenomenal. The food is out of this world!! Our wedding was in a blizzard and they were so very accommodating. Our guests had nothing but good things to say. One thing I will say is, if you're going to use them, try and deal with Tommy only. Much more personable than Albert.
Private User
Wedding: 1/27/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Tommy is the best! Food is amazing and the place is beautiful.
Private User
Wedding: 12/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Brownstone made all my wedding dreams come true! The entire staff was beyond helpful and attentive! Every detail of our wedding was absolute perfection! My guests can't stop raving about the food and the service! The cake, ice sculptures, linens, and decorations around the venue made it a truly magical night for us!
Joseph
Wedding: 12/21/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Tommy was very thorough and helpful in deciding to book in December. I appreciated that he itemizes everything on the menu. If you choose not to have something, then you're cost per head will reflect that. The staff was very professional. Mina catered to the two main tables of our parents. She's great!
Christie
Wedding: 11/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
OUTSTANDING food, service, location and overall experience!
Tara
Wedding: 10/26/13
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here in October. Despite what other reviews say.. these people know what they are doing. Our wedding was certainly not the only event going on here, but you would have never known it. Food was out of this world amazing. Osso bucco was to die for. Albert is great.. did everything we asked. Since they are so busy it is hard to get a response from these people. About 2 months before my wedding we were assigned a second planner.. she was wonderful. Answered all of our questions as well as the baker. Would highly recommend.
Katherine
Wedding: 9/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Loved working with the Brownstone. Our head server Mina and our matre D were incredible. My husband and I always felt like we were the most important people there that evening. Anything we needed they would get. The food was out of this world! Would recommend this to couples getting married in northern NJ
Nina
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
What can I say about the Brownstone but that it's sheer perfection. From the beautiful reception space to the fabulous food, there is no place in Northern New Jersey that's better. The staff at the Brownstone, including Mr. Tom Manzo and our maitre d, Gary, made sure everything was perfect. My family and friends are still raving about our wedding and the wonderful food. From the veal, to the lambchops to the lobster, and let's not forget the jumbo shrimp cocktail, there is no place like it-- anywhere.
Anonymous
Wedding: 4/6/13
4.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Thank you very much for being apart of our Wedding, the service you provided was impeccable from initial reservation inquiry to the final guest leaving that night everything was perfect, we are very glad to have made the right choice. Thank you Michelle & Arthur
Melissa
Wedding: 11/17/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Thank you Tommy, Albert and the entire Brownstone staff for treating us like family. People are still talking about our wedding and how AMAZING the food was!!! The lobster tails, lambchops, Albert serving up sliders, the grilled cheese with tomato soup shooters and the dessert hour were among the favorites were heard about. So many people said that the service was impeccable!!! Thank you to our bridal attendant Chrissy for taking care of Dave and I as well as our immediate family and bridal party! She was soooo awesome!!! Tommy, thank you for going ABOVE and BEYOND...you work soooo hard-taking care of clients at your desk and in the kitchen! The menu went on and on....we loved our special JETS ice sculpture by the bar and signature drink too!!! It was the BEST DAY of our lives. THANK YOU for everything!!!!
Heather
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The brownstone staff were so helpful and friendly. Everything went smoothly and I was very happy with their service and food!
Katie
Wedding: 9/9/12
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Hardly any complaints about The Brownstone. Beautiful venue, excellent food, great staff. Most importantly, GREAT value! Every part of planning leading up to the wedding day was easy. I worked with Robert Manger who was able to keep this crazy bride calm and collected. He's very accomodating and so easy to work with. Our maitre d' the day of the wedding was very helpful, though I felt he rushed me a little bit. We were taking pictures at the gazebo when he interrupted and said our food was getting cold. The only other complaint I have is that we got to The Brownstone very early the morning of the wedding for hair and makeup, and the room wasn't set up for us. My mother and I, along with our hair stylist and makeup artist, arranged the room, brought in extra chairs, and figured out how to turn the AC on. It was an added stressor that I didn't need on "the big day". We were told the week of the wedding that someone would be there to assist us in setting up, but only wait staff was there (who didn't speak English), so they couldn't help. Also, the maitre d' told us we were in the "wrong" bridal suite, though it was the room Robert had shown us and told us we'd be prepping. I don't know if there is even another bridal suite, but it would've been helpful if someone had been there as promised to guide us a bit. Other than that, I have only good things to so about The Brownstone and would definitely recommend their services!
Anonymous
Wedding: 9/2/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our whole experience with the brownstone was amazing. From the first time we went in to look through our wonderful wedding night everything was perfect and went off as planned and more. Our guests have not stopped telling us that the food was amazing and that it was one of the best weddings they have ever been to in their lives. We wish we could go back to the brownstone and experience the same exact wedding as guests. Hopefully someone will invite us soon. The cocktail hour was unbeatable, as was everything else about the whole night.
 
 
Find The Brownstone reviews from newlyweds in North Jersey that used The Brownstone for wedding Ceremony Venues services.