home >  categories >  ceremony venues >  the brownstone >  reviews

The Brownstone

Services:

Ceremony Venues

Phone: 973-595-8582 
351 West Broadway, Paterson, NJ 07522
 
Overall Rating
4.6 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.6/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
4.6/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.8/5.0
Flexibility:
4.7/5.0
 
55 Total Reviews
 
shelley
Wedding: 3/30/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
food and staff is fabulous.....
Valerie
Wedding: 3/28/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with the way our wedding day turned out! We got many compliments on how great the food was and how beautiful the cake was.
Maria
Wedding: 3/22/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
They treated us, Bridal party and guests like royalty. Extremely accommodating, helpful, the food was amazing and delicious and the space was beautiful. The night was magical.
Private User
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Working with Tommy was incredible!! He had an answer to my questions before I could even ask, and I had a lot of questions.The venue is gorgeous. The staff in phenomenal. The food is out of this world!! Our wedding was in a blizzard and they were so very accommodating. Our guests had nothing but good things to say. One thing I will say is, if you're going to use them, try and deal with Tommy only. Much more personable than Albert.
Private User
Wedding: 1/27/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Tommy is the best! Food is amazing and the place is beautiful.
Private User
Wedding: 12/31/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Brownstone made all my wedding dreams come true! The entire staff was beyond helpful and attentive! Every detail of our wedding was absolute perfection! My guests can't stop raving about the food and the service! The cake, ice sculptures, linens, and decorations around the venue made it a truly magical night for us!
Joseph
Wedding: 12/21/13
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Tommy was very thorough and helpful in deciding to book in December. I appreciated that he itemizes everything on the menu. If you choose not to have something, then you're cost per head will reflect that. The staff was very professional. Mina catered to the two main tables of our parents. She's great!
Christie
Wedding: 11/2/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
OUTSTANDING food, service, location and overall experience!
Tara
Wedding: 10/26/13
4.7 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.5/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here in October. Despite what other reviews say.. these people know what they are doing. Our wedding was certainly not the only event going on here, but you would have never known it. Food was out of this world amazing. Osso bucco was to die for. Albert is great.. did everything we asked. Since they are so busy it is hard to get a response from these people. About 2 months before my wedding we were assigned a second planner.. she was wonderful. Answered all of our questions as well as the baker. Would highly recommend.
Katherine
Wedding: 9/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Loved working with the Brownstone. Our head server Mina and our matre D were incredible. My husband and I always felt like we were the most important people there that evening. Anything we needed they would get. The food was out of this world! Would recommend this to couples getting married in northern NJ
Nina
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
What can I say about the Brownstone but that it's sheer perfection. From the beautiful reception space to the fabulous food, there is no place in Northern New Jersey that's better. The staff at the Brownstone, including Mr. Tom Manzo and our maitre d, Gary, made sure everything was perfect. My family and friends are still raving about our wedding and the wonderful food. From the veal, to the lambchops to the lobster, and let's not forget the jumbo shrimp cocktail, there is no place like it-- anywhere.
Anonymous
Wedding: 4/6/13
4.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Thank you very much for being apart of our Wedding, the service you provided was impeccable from initial reservation inquiry to the final guest leaving that night everything was perfect, we are very glad to have made the right choice. Thank you Michelle & Arthur
Melissa
Wedding: 11/17/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Thank you Tommy, Albert and the entire Brownstone staff for treating us like family. People are still talking about our wedding and how AMAZING the food was!!! The lobster tails, lambchops, Albert serving up sliders, the grilled cheese with tomato soup shooters and the dessert hour were among the favorites were heard about. So many people said that the service was impeccable!!! Thank you to our bridal attendant Chrissy for taking care of Dave and I as well as our immediate family and bridal party! She was soooo awesome!!! Tommy, thank you for going ABOVE and BEYOND...you work soooo hard-taking care of clients at your desk and in the kitchen! The menu went on and on....we loved our special JETS ice sculpture by the bar and signature drink too!!! It was the BEST DAY of our lives. THANK YOU for everything!!!!
Heather
Wedding: 10/6/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The brownstone staff were so helpful and friendly. Everything went smoothly and I was very happy with their service and food!
Katie
Wedding: 9/9/12
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Hardly any complaints about The Brownstone. Beautiful venue, excellent food, great staff. Most importantly, GREAT value! Every part of planning leading up to the wedding day was easy. I worked with Robert Manger who was able to keep this crazy bride calm and collected. He's very accomodating and so easy to work with. Our maitre d' the day of the wedding was very helpful, though I felt he rushed me a little bit. We were taking pictures at the gazebo when he interrupted and said our food was getting cold. The only other complaint I have is that we got to The Brownstone very early the morning of the wedding for hair and makeup, and the room wasn't set up for us. My mother and I, along with our hair stylist and makeup artist, arranged the room, brought in extra chairs, and figured out how to turn the AC on. It was an added stressor that I didn't need on "the big day". We were told the week of the wedding that someone would be there to assist us in setting up, but only wait staff was there (who didn't speak English), so they couldn't help. Also, the maitre d' told us we were in the "wrong" bridal suite, though it was the room Robert had shown us and told us we'd be prepping. I don't know if there is even another bridal suite, but it would've been helpful if someone had been there as promised to guide us a bit. Other than that, I have only good things to so about The Brownstone and would definitely recommend their services!
Anonymous
Wedding: 9/2/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our whole experience with the brownstone was amazing. From the first time we went in to look through our wonderful wedding night everything was perfect and went off as planned and more. Our guests have not stopped telling us that the food was amazing and that it was one of the best weddings they have ever been to in their lives. We wish we could go back to the brownstone and experience the same exact wedding as guests. Hopefully someone will invite us soon. The cocktail hour was unbeatable, as was everything else about the whole night.
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/12/12
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Tommy was a great help to me and my fiance. Tommy put together a delicious 5 course menu that was also a great value. Everyone loved the food and my wedding became known as "over the top" throughout my family. It was also deemed the best wedding my extended family had ever been to. Everyone working in the reception room to cater me and all my guests were extremely gracious and helpful. They went above and beyond to give me and my guests an amazing evening. Not to mention that the conservatory is an exquisite room for a wedding. The only thing I could negatively comment about was that we upgraded the champagne to Moet Chandon and my husband noticed they were refilling our glasses with something cheaper. It was not that big of a deal for me and it was probably a mistake. However, we spent extra for the upgrade that i'm not sure we received. * Best food by far at any wedding I have ever attended and grounds and building are beautiful!
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/4/12
1.5 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
0.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
1.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.5/5.0
Flexibility:
2.0/5.0
Brides beware! My husband and I recently got married at The Brownstone, and I had difficulty not focusing on all the things that went wrong at our wedding, that I couldn't enjoy my honeymoon as much as I should have. My husband and I chose The Brownstone only because it was recommended to us by a family friend, who worked closely with the Manzos. I won't lie, they did give us an excellent deal for our wedding; however, I would have paid double to not have the lingering bad taste in my mouth that I do about the events that happened there. 1. If you want a personal experience, steer clear. It takes quite some time to get a resonse from anyone here. Do not expect your wedding to be the only event that is running, there are so many events happening, you will not be special. 2. My mother-in-law rented their upstairs apartment for my girls and I to get ready, it was sweltering up there, and although I told everyone from the wait staff to Albert, no one addressed the issue. 3. My husband and I got married in the grand conservatory, where a ballroom is located next door. I explicitly asked, repeatedly, if there would be any loud party next door while I was getting married, I was reassured multiple times, "no, never, this is what we do, trust us," and low and behold, and I was saying my vows to my husband, the DJ from next door started blaring music, and clear as day you could here him say "Are you guys ready to party!?" and with bumping base, my to be perfect moment with my husband was shattered!!! I will NEVER forget or forgive them for this. 175 guest also got to hear it, so they did a major diservice to themselves by not managing as well as they should have. 4. My receiving line was a disaster because instead of where we rehearsed it to be, it was pushed into my cocktail hour location. I have a lot more to say; however, there is a max on words here. Overall, I would NOT recommend the brownstone to any bride. Don't end up with tainted memories...
Anonymous
Wedding: 8/4/12
4.4 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.5/5.0
Flexibility:
4.5/5.0
Lovely! The Brownstone was extremely accomodating to our needs. And of course, the food was outstanding!! I highly recommend it for your wedding. They reallly put on a great experience and look at all the details.
Rona
Wedding: 7/22/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Mr. Albert Manzo at The Brownstone was very professional and helped answer all of our questions. He helped us with menu selection, to cake design/flavors, and linen! The food is amazing (my family and friends still talk about it!) and the venue is lovely! The staff is wonderful, especially Sandra and John. My wedding was perfect and partly because of the amazing work The Brownstone does! Thank you so much, Mr. Manzo. Can't wait to work with you again!
 
 
Find The Brownstone reviews from newlyweds in North Jersey that used The Brownstone for wedding Ceremony Venues services.